Samaritan Medal Press Release

January 18, 2021

The 2020 Samaritan Peace Medals have been awarded in light of the historic achievement of the Abraham Accords by which normal relations between the State of Israel and her neighbors have been proclaimed. This achievement is made possible through the hard work and open-mindedness of all concerned parties who determined that peace with dignity for all was worth their strenuous efforts.

The Abraham Accords are an historic achievement on the path to peace impacting the entire Middle East and even the world. Through these Accords, all parties gained concession, relations, as well as trade and travel, are normalized, and all the peoples involved will increase in their prosperity and security.

In recognition thereof the Samaritan Medal Foundation has voted to award the Samarian Medal for Peace to the following:

· The King of Morocco, Mohammed VI

· The King of Bahrain, Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa

· The President of the UAE and emir of Abu Dhabi, Khalifa bin Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan

· The Sovereignty Council of Sudan

These governments strove to conclude a dignified peace with a former foe for the good of their own people and for the general good of the whole world, who will benefit from these accords. They are especially to be praised for their generous and gracious spirit and magnanimity and for placing the good of all the people in their countries in the whole Middle East and beyond at the forefront of their efforts.

As acknowledgment of their role in promoting this accord and facilitating dialogue, the government of the United States of America has played a key role, for which we award the Samaritan Peace medal to His Excellency David Melech Friedman, US Ambassador to Israel.

In recognition of the government of the State of Israel’s desire and efforts to meet the other parties at a place of mutual respect and dignity, and to make compromises necessary for the common good, we also award The President of Israel, Reuven Rivlin, with a Samaritan Medal of Peace.

מדליות השלום השומרוניות

לשנת 2020

 הוענקו על ההישגים ההיסטוריים של הסכמי אברהם, דרכם הוכרזו יחסים.  נורמליים ביןמדינת ישראל לשכנותיה. הישג זה התאפשר באמצעות עבודה קשה ופתיחות ראש שלכל הצדדים הנוגעים בדבר שהחליטו כי שלום בכבוד לכולם שווה את מאמציהםהמאומצים.

הסכמי אברהם הם הישג היסטורי בדרך לשלום המשפיעים על המזרח התיכון כולו ועלהעולם כולו. באמצעות הסכמים אלה צברו המפלגות ויתורים, סחר חופשי ונסיעות, כמוגם שגשוג ביטחון מוגברים.

כהוקרה לכך, הקרן למדליית השומרוני הצביעה להעניק את מדליות השלוםהשומרוניות  למצטיינים הבאים:

• מלך מרוקו, מוחמד השישי

• מלך בחריין, חמאד בן איסה אל ח’ליפה

• נשיא איחוד האמירויות ואמיר של אבו דאבי, ח’ליפה בן זייד בן סולטן אל נהיאן

• מועצת הריבונות של סודן

ממשלות אלה השתדלו לסכם שלום מכובד עם אויב לשעבר לטובת עמם ולטובת העולםכולו. הם זוכים לשבחים במיוחד על רוח האדיבות הגדולה שלהם, ועל העמדת טובת כלהאנשים בארצותיהם במזרח התיכון ומחוצה לו, בראש סדר העדיפויות שלהם.

כהודאה לממשלת ארצות הברית של אמריקה, אשר מילאה תפקיד מרכזי בקידוםהסכמים אלה והקלה על הדיאלוג, אנו מעניקים את מדליות השלום השומרוני לכבוד דודמלך פרידמן, שגריר ארה”ב בישראל.

כהוקרה על ממשלת מדינת ישראל שפגשה את כל הצדדים במקום של כבוד והערכההדדית, וביצעה פשרות הכרחיות לטובת הכלל, אנו מעניקים גם את מדליית השלוםהשומרוני לראובן ריבלין, נשיא ישראל